Membership Committee

Committee Members 2014-2015
Co-chairs: Judy Kearney
and Abby Burns
Members: David Ashton
Ellen Brandenburg, Edith Luray
Nancy TenBroeck, Perry McIntosh
and Sharon Williams

The purpose of the Membership Committee is to engage members in the activities of the Athenaeum and recruit new members from current and new constituencies.

The Membership Committee is composed of a Chair(s), at least one trustee member and other members who may be Trustees, Proprietors or Subscribers. The President and Director are ex-officio members of the committee.

The Membership Committee is a board-authorized committee. The chair and members are approved by the Board annually.


  • Define and execute strategies for member retention and recruitment.
  • Encourage participation of members as volunteers for events to deepen their commitment to the Athenaeum.
  • Plan and manage parties and events for the membership including: the annual garden party in June; two annual membership orientation events, in the spring and fall; a winter welcome party in December; and work with the Development Committee to plan and carry out the annual fundraiser in March.
  • Coordinate with other committees as appropriate.


Upcoming Events

View Entire Calendar